Vat Flexing PDMS vs FEP

I would ask Mark to weigh in on this. I have been using my Moai 120 machines for about 18 months now full time for production. I have two and they are set up identically with PDMS vats. I have my machines levelled properly and generally have good success with prints. The one challenge I have is when I print full build volumes of small parts. The ones around the outside flex the bottoms of the vats and bow the middle so t middle prints fail between the slow and fast layers, no matter how many slow layers I set. This is better with a heater because the resin is thinner and doesn’t act as a cushion on the peripheral print bases. I understand this is a design issue that presents itself particularly when printing a lot of small parts and isn’t a design flaw so much. I would switch to FEP because the springy nature of PDMS is eliminated. The question I have is- how thick and stiff is the new FEP bottom plate, is it thicker than the PDMS vat bottom, and stiff enough to not have this problem present?

0 Likes

Hi Jeff,

The nature and benefit of FEP is that it flexes and bows to allow the part to peel easily. If the problem you are facing is not having a stiff base, then FEP will not be the solution.

Here is a pretty good article describing how FEP vats work.

The new Form three using a different peel technology which might be something that you could look into.

Perhaps someone in your local area with a FEP setup can do a test print for you.

0 Likes

I’m not interested in Form3. I have two Moai for my production shop and I want to nail down how to convert these two machines so my prints are predictable. I also prefer the way FEP works but I need to know how the acrylic bottom sheet is thicker than the PDMS ones which I think are too thin. Also I don’t like pdms

0 Likes

both pdms vat and fep vat has same thickness at 3mm.