Starting with the FEP vat

I’m new to the Moai and was able to get some good prints on the PDMS vat before it tore. Based on some readings here, I decided to get the heater and FEP vat as my next step. Unfortunately, the FEP vat came with no setup instructions - it oddly included a paper about leveling my new build plate even though I didn’t order one. Here are my questions that I haven’t found answers to yet on the forum.

1. If I was printing fine before, is it as simple as updating the Z reset and moving forward?
  2. I only have the original build plate and the posts I’ve read make it sound like there is a risk of the FEP vat overflowing with the original build plate. Is it enough to just cautiously start with only a little resin or do I really need to get the easy level build plate? If I add resin by weight, how much can be added?
  3. Some of the posts also suggest that the as-delivered FEP film is junk and should be replaced. Mine doesn’t look particularly clear at first but I could try cleaning it better. Is it really best to replace the film (I do have some replacement film)? That option is frustrating since one would think the pre-assembled vat would be ready to use as-delivered.

Thanks in advance.

• the wiki was info on fep, ideadly you just need to change the z reset and print the pillars to check your level
    https://wiki.peopoly.net/doku.php?id=moai:fep
  • before doing that, update your printer settings.
    http://wiki.peopoly.net/doku.php?id=moai:firmware
  • original build plate will only hold a small amount of resin ( around 200ml max )
    test this for yourself by using water and putting the plate into the vat, see how much liquid you can get, remember the plate tilts, so you need buffer.
  • nothing wrong with the fep that comes with it, most people damage it because they dont do the fep switch properly and have failed prints rip the fep.
  • I only use Peo fep.

I have the same configuration.