Starting Out New With Nothing

I am new to 3D printing. I can build, break, fix, etc. puters. *nix, win, osx.
Former machinist building the Furford Cranberry Picker/Pruner amongst other things.
Want to take a stab at 3D printing and Im torn on what machine I should start out with.

Debated the Creality3D CR-10 S5 or the Moai.

I want to be able to make bigger than trinkets or 200
glued pieces. Maybe Im naive to it all anyway.

Anybody have any suggestions or advice? other than run away?

0 Likes

I would suggest watching a lot of Youtube videos. You can’t compare an FDM to an SLA printer. They are two different beasts. SLA printers typically have mush smaller build volumes. Maker’s Muse, Matterhackers and 3d Printing Nerd have great videos as well as many others. Images are worth a thousand words and then some with video reviews :slight_smile:

That said , you being a former machinist, I don;t think you would have any issues understanding the inner workings.:+1:

0 Likes

Just order some 3D printed parts to give you an idea.

What kind of things to you want to print ?

For reference I’ve been designing and implementing 3d printed parts in my company and we use them for prototyping products & tooling, but also make jigs, fixtures, other tools as well as internal parts for some of our final products. So, a bit of everything.

I’m about to buy a Moai because I want to 3D print stuff for my hobby workshop at home as well for everyday-use useful objects. But I’m also setting up a propane oven and will be starting aluminium casting soon, I expect being able to print smooth masters for the sand molds with the Moai is going to be a HUGE accelerator and facilitator in the realization of these cast parts.

1 Like

all these replies are great.