Moai Customization for Research Applications

Hi,

I am a researcher at an Australian university. We are currently looking into getting an SLA printer to do research into custom resins for 3D printing. We also study photochemistry and how different wavelengths of light can be used to trigger different reactions. Because of this, we have slightly unique requirements for any printer we might purchase:

• Ability to print using small amounts of custom-made resin as we are often working with experimental compounds we only have a small amount of.

• Ability to open the printing chamber in order to be able to irradiate the structure with a secondary light source while it’s being printed.

• Potentially even the ability to replace the primary light source with one that uses a different wavelength (I realize that might be asking a lot).

Clearly this isn’t stuff any printer has been built in mind with, which has made trying to find a printer that would work for us quite difficult. I have come to realize that we would probably have to do a lot of our own tinkering. I have been looking at a lot of different printers from different manufacturers and I think the Moai might be best suited for us. I mainly base this on the fact that it is sold as a kit which suggests to me it is more open to tinker with.

I am mainly looking to get input from existing users to get an idea if some of these modifications I have in mind are possible at all, or if there is something inherently preventing them:

• Building our own custom smaller resin vat and build platform in order to be able to print with smaller amounts of resin.
  • Replacing the laser module with third-party laser modules of different wavelengths.

Are there any safety features etc. preventing this kind of thing? Also please let me know if I am overthinking this and there are much easier ways to achieve what we want or if I am just talking absolute nonsense. I’m just spit-balling here!

Thanks!