Looking for advice, first time print

I am new to sla printing and would like to know if I can print the matterhackers Phil without any supports? From what I read I should put a couple holes in his feet for draining but I didn’t know if I should use support. This will be my first print using sla I am accustomed to fdm printing, this is much different. Any help or pointers would be appreciated

Which printer do you have? SLA printing is quite a bit different than FDM printing. Keep in mind that I am pretty new to SLA printing myself, so I don’t have all the answers.

With FDM you would print Phil standing vertically on the build plate and could get away with no support. With SLA you need to consider the cross-section of the layers and avoid too much peel force caused by a lot of surface area and/or suction. This is because after each layer of resin is cured by the laser or UV lamp, the lower surface of the model needs to be peeled off of the vat (or resin tank). This is done with a rocking motion of the vat. If peeling fails, the resin will be stuck to the vat instead of to the build plate or not stuck at all.

Bottom line, to improve your chances of a successful print, you need to typically tilt your model about 15° off of vertical to reduce cross-section, hollow it out and add supports to the low points of the model when viewing the model upright. Keep in mind that the model will actually be printed upside down. You also need to add holes to the lowest points possible on the model. The holes are more for air venting to prevent suction than for draining.

On a Moai, the Asura software can be used to position the model, hollow it and add supports. On the Phenom, I believe you would use ChiTuBox software to do the same thing.

It takes some practice and you need to think about things differently than you might be used to, but you will get it.

I have the moai 130