Just joined the family!

Hey all! Just joined and would like to introduce myself as well as seek any advice you’d care to offer.
First things first, I’m Bob, pleasure to be here. I’ve been printing for about seven years, ever since I bought my first FDM printers, three MakerFarm i3Vs. Today I finally took the plunge into SLA and purchased a like new, gently used Moai 130 for half the price after doing a week’s worth of research and YouTube review watching. I decided to go Moai due to the build size, as I do a lot of prototyping.

Because of my familiarity with 3D printing as a whole, plus my “Go big or go home” mindset, I also went ahead and bought a FEP vat, liter of grey resin and an easy level plate from MatterHackers as well as a roll of FEP film from McMaster-Carr. While I’m waiting for those to arrive, I’ve started converting a multi-drawer wheeled cabinet into my new 3D printing station, complete with built-in high output UV lamp in one of the larger slide-out drawers as well as a parts wash basin with sprayer off to the side, to run recycled filtered resin wash through. When finished, it will hold not only my Moai, but my Ender 3 Pro and CR6-SE. Needless to say, I like to be prepared lol.

Some of the things I’ve already considered once everything gets here include: inspecting and cleaning the galvos with a lint-free IPA swab, if necessary; installing an 8in spare heated build plate inside the cabinet to provide a heat source; adding a fan/vent to the back to run through a charcoal filter; and lastly, adding a resin filtering system of some sort. Do any of these sound like decent ideas, and what other advice/modifications would you recommend?

Thanks for taking the time to read all this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome, first up the new updates look promising, and should be finalised soon (I hope). They should fix some of the issues FEP vat users like myself are having with prominent layer lines: Upcoming update for Moai / Moai 200