Impossible design

So i am new to printing with only a test ring and 40 of the bed level poles printed.
The fact these printers are so difficult to level astounds me.
When you move one corner the other corner is effected but not 1 to 1 as springs are involved so you chase it round and round untill its almost exact at 10.7mm ± .02mm
Among that issue theres the issue of the mounting plates that bend and warp because they are made too thin.
Has anyone noticed the pealing motor stalls while setting home possition evey time its turned on flexing the mounting brackets?
Or the fact they could have used a more robust linkage to connect the pealing motor.
Anyway i was modifying the build plate with a ball mount so leveling would be a brease and it was. Only problem is the pivot for the resin tray is under the level of the vat so as it peals it creates a sliding motion to the printed model. Im going to move the position of the bar from underneath the vat level to above it with some brackets which will drop the vat away from the model vs tear it sideways. Ill keep you posted on these mods as if successful will change the moai from one of the most painfull printers into a worth while tool.

1 Like

Peopoly is about to release a adjustable buildplate to make the leveling easier so i wouldnt “waste” much time on that mod!

I didnt have that much trouble leveling the printer, what i realized is that you need to work on the nuts by small increments so you can readjust all the points to “perfection”. Doing full turns (even if you need to) might not be a good idea, its better to do 1/4 and check all sides to see if they are maintaining there position and if not, adjust accordingly