Frustrated with Moai 200

Haven’t got even one good print so far.
all come out like this.

1 Like

Wow… such a bad print.
I am looking at buying a printer and am surprised that you have not had your post answered.
Is this the right printer for me I wonder.

0 Likes

I could also show many pictures of failed prints.

IMG_6910a

The Moai 200 has successfully printed the ring and moai head. As the prints get bigger, they usually fail.

0 Likes

I’m still a novice but in my case when I take off at the points of contact is because it is not well healed and is released by suction, I solve it by raising the power of the laser, try it to me has gone well

0 Likes

In the present condition, I can advise anyone not to buy the Moai 200.

There are two major weak points on Moai 200:

1. The inaccuracy in the corners is very high (see Measurement and correction of accuracy)

2. The detachment forces from the FEP film are way too big (see peeling forces )

The first point could be compensated by software.

The second is due to a design flaw of the FEP vat plate, which can only be eliminated by replacement.

IMO

0 Likes

for big models, you will have to pay much more attention to PM motor speed, temperature and your supports
increasing the tip size and the density of the supports gives you much higher chance of success.

0 Likes

share with us your settings:

Room temperature:
Firmware version:
System Setting is default per Peopoly recommendation? (Yes/No)
Build plate type: (Standard 1-piece / easy to level)
Vat: (Silicon vat / FEP vat)
Cura Version and Profiles:
Infill %:
Laser Power:
Z-reset position:
PM Motor Speed:
Z Follow Speed:
What type Vat: (Peopoly Original vat, Recoated Peopoly vat, custom vat made by user)
What type of resin:
Leveling measurement:
A, B, C, D (example 10.9mm)

Any user customization?:

0 Likes